You are here

Wat Yarnnasen

Share:  

Wat Yarnnasen

This ancient temple was constructed in the early Ayutthaya period and its original name Wat Yanusen. It is located on the north side of the City Island close to Klong Maha Thera Maichae. This area was the residence of the Mon people. There is no evidence stating who built the temple. A legend stated the royal storage for robes and accessories used for the royal elephant daily routines close to this temple. The water passage was in front of Wat Yarnnasen. From the north side of the temple, the residents call that area as the rapid water canal. This has been used to bring fresh water from Lop Buri River into Bueng Phra Ram. This is the ancient method of water circulation in Bueng Pha Ram.
The important archaeological structure is the brick chedi and ubosot. The main chedi was built facing East and with the twelve indented corners on the square base, the same architectural style as Chedi Si Suriyothai. The Fine Arts Department did a restoration in 1944 and found many valuable artefacts including a gold plate with animal shapes in the Ayutthayan design, and bronze Buddha statues from the Lop Buri and Ayutthaya periods. These artefacts are displayed now in the Ayutthaya National Museum.
The ubosot was recently rebuilt on the old platform that the curved base design of Ayutthayan art was kept as original. The walls also have the sunlight passage instead of windows.

Wat Yarnnasen

U-Thong Road, Tambon Ta Wasukree, near Wat Rachapraditsathan