After visiting the ancient palace and paying respect to the Buddha image at Wat Mongkhon Bophit, another nearby site that should not be missed is the Khum Khun Phaen. It is a good historical example of the Central Thai-style houses for wealthy families that are rarely found today. The architecture reflects local knowledge in building a home that suited the environment and weather with a focus on functionality.
The Khum Khun Phaen comprises of 5 houses. The largest house to the West is call
|
The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) has converted the Old City Hall in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya into a modern day Tourist Information Centre. It holds current exhibitions that give an overview of the city and is the ideal stop for a quick understanding of the splendid former capital of Thailand.
It was originally built in 1941 under the administration of Luang Borihan Chonnabot (San) with the aid of Mr. Pridi Banomyong, Finance Minister under the government of Field Marshal Plaek Pibul
|
Chandrakasem Palace is thought to have been built around 1577 during the reign of King Phra Maha Thammaracha and was used as the residence of King Naresuan the Great when travelling from Phitsanulok to visit his father in Ayutthaya. After the position of “Wang Na” was given to Krom Phra Ratchawang Bowon Sathan Mongkhon it was used thereafter as the residence of the successor to the throne (Wang Na). It was later used by King Ekathotsarot, Chaofa Suthat, King Narai the Great, Khun Luang Sorasa
|
King Boromarachathirat II (Chao Sam Phraya) ordered the construction of these two well-known chedis (stupas) in 1424 as monuments for his brothers Chao Ai Phraya and Chao Yi Phraya. Upon the death of their father, King Nakharintharathirat, two of the eldest sons brought troops into the city to contest the throne. They both met at the Pa Than Bridge in elephant-mounted combat, slaying each other.
Chao Sam Phraya, who later came from Chai Nat, assumed the throne as the rightful successor an
|
The Royal Chronicles of Ayutthaya indicate that in 1689, before his succession to the throne, King Phetracha ordered the construction of Wat Borom Phuttharam in his hometown of Pa Tong District. The layout of the site consists of the ubosot, wihan, sermon hall and dwellings for the monks. Glazed yellow tiles crafted by Muen Chantharat were used on the roofs of the ubosot, wihan and sermon hall. After the construction that took 2 years to complete, this royal temple was named “Wat Borom Phutth
|
Found across from the mouth of Khlong Toh (Khlong Chakrai Yai), south of venerable Koh Muang, Wat Phutthaisawan is considered to be one of the oldest temples in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya. The complex encompasses a long history that spans back to the rise of Ayutthaya city. Up until present, the land around the temple has been the home to numerous communities of Chinese, Portuguese, Vietnamese, French and Muslims.
According to some Royal Chronicles, King U-Thong commissioned the construction
|