Wat Phanan Choeng
Wat Phanan Choeng is a temple that pre-dates the Ayutthaya period, as such there are no clear records of its construction, apart from the Northern Royal Chronicle, in which it talks about a relationship between Phra Chao Sai Nam Peung and Phra Nang Soi Dok Mak. The story ends with sadness and loss; Phra Chao Sai Nam Peung ordered the construction of a temple at the funeral site of Phra Nang Soi Dok Mak and named it Wat Phra Nang Choeng. Additionally, there is a Chinese shrine called “Chao Mae Soi Dok Mak Building” that is located next to the wihan of Luang Pho Tho.
Luang Pho Tho is a large, 19 meter tall Buddha image in the Mara Vichaya pose. The name of the Buddha is “Phra Trai Rattanayok”, commonly known as “Sam Pao Kong”. Large Buddhas such as this were common during the Dhavaravati period. According to the Royal Chronicle of Luang Prasert Aksorn Nithi, the Buddha was built in 1324; twenty six years before Ayutthaya was established.
Apart from the solemn beauty that brings a sense of peace to the viewers, there are the stories of miracles that surround the temple. The Royal Chronicles of Khun Luang Ha Wat allege that prior to the destruction of Ayutthaya at the hands of the Burmese, “tears flowed from the sacred eyes”, and before the change of the Thai political system, the face of the Buddha collapsed in 1928.
The atmosphere around the temple clearly indicates a Chinese influence, as do the style of the buildings, the sculptures in the shapes of gods and the temple’s annual tradition of giving, and even the Chinese cemetery. These show that Wat Phanan Choeng has always been part of the Chinese community.
Wat Phanan Choeng
 |
Khlong Suan Plu sub-district, Phra Nakhon Sri Ayuthaya district, on route 3059
Situated on the South bank of Pa Sak River across from Koh Muang, 3 km from Wat Yai Chaimongkol
|